I am such a dork

There’s a fabulous great blue heron heronry in a giant cottonwood tree near my workplace. I’d noticed that several herons are back. Yesterday I took my binos with me to work so that I could walk over at lunch and take a peek. I’d forgotten about the giant snowstorm that hit Tues; the walking trails were still snow covered. Duh, me in my tennies and jeans. I walked the long way around. Just before I got to the prime viewing spot, I stepped in slushy snow up to my ankles. Not good. Guess I can’t walk on water after all (jk). I was already in it, so I soldiered on. Squish, squish. Saw the herons; three males already in breeding plumage hanging out at the nests, waiting for the females to arrive to begin rebuilding. And I spied a great horned owl way up in the tree. My friend Dee calls me the owl whisperer because I always seem to spot them before others do. I agree; I believe that somehow I summon them. Squish, squish, all the way back to work. Packed up my laptop and work and went home to change shoes, socks, and jeans. Bad news is, I have a small blister on one heel from walking so far with wet feet. Oh well. Worth it to see the birds! I’ll take pics later, when the young are fledging.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

