The name game

You may know that I’m sensitive about the pronunciation of my last name. When someone who knows me calls me Kristy ass-tree, it just sets my teeth on edge. It’s not ass-tree, it’s A(long A)-Strye(long Y). You know, like pie. The first time someone mispronounces my name, I correct the speaker. The second time and beyond, I usually let it slide. But when I introduce myself to people or call them, you’d better believe I say Kristy Astry.

Here’s another mnemonic: If you have three Aces, and you’re trying for a fourth…you get Ace-try.

I’ve threatened, half-jokingly, to change the spelling of my last name to Aistrye. Or maybe this is better:  Oestreich, which is the original spelling!

2 comments so far

  1. Dana on

    Thanks for the mnemonics. That will help me remember. I’ve tried spelling my name Danah, Danna, and Dana (like banana) with no luck. Maybe we should both start using hyphens. A-stry and Dan-a?

  2. realtabsd on

    Even if I hyphenated, people would still say Astry as in pastry. I get that a lot too.


Leave a Reply

